Wed. Nov 30th, 2022

Northern Regional minister, Salifu Saeed has parted the New Patriotic Party (NPP) parliamentary candidate for Sagnarigu constituency, Madam Felicia Tetteh on the back for what he described as “sterling performance” in the just ended elections.

Mr. Saeed stated this when he was speaking to the media for the first time after December 7 elections, adding that the NPP 2020 Sagnarigu PC has proven many people wrong, and that she deserves better position in the Nana Addo next government.

“In the history of our fourth republican contest, the Sagnarigu constituency – this is parliamentary candidate, who has gathered votes, for the presidential candidate. I can tell you, the wind president Akufo-Addo has gotten, but for the contribution of this lady, it wouldn’t have been possible. In Northern Region, for us, we believe that Madam Felicia Tetteh has won the seat because the votes that she has gathered for the president, it is more than even some seats, that our parliamentary candidate won, both presidential and parliamentary”, the Northern Regional minister said.

“So I thank you on behalf of the government in the region. I am yet to go with you to thank the people and chiefs of Sagnarigu constituency and we go to the presidency. And I want to tell you. You pray that the government is formed, you are going to be part of it. Your contribution will not go under the water”, he added.

He also described her as the “new phenomena” in Northern politics, calling on civil society organizations, NGOs and gender activists to support more women to make impact like Felicia Tetteh’s.

Until the elections, Sagnarigu constituency was safe place for the NDC, with the NPP never winning a single ballot box, since the creation of the constituency in 2012.

The MP, Alhaji A. B. A. Fuseini is on record to have dared Madam Felicia Tetteh to win just one one (1) ballot box, but, she has been able to win forty two (42) ballot boxes out of 146 ballot boxes.

Out of total registered votes of 71, 739, the MP, A. B. A. polled 34, 251 votes to beat Madam Felicia Tetteh who had 26, 051 votes.

But, in 2016, the MP had 26,898 to beat his main contender, Iddrisu Habib who polled 7,888.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *