Wed. Nov 30th, 2022

Leader of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) Caucus in parliament and Member of Parliament (MP) for Tamale South Constituency Haruna Iddrisu has said that the MP for Asawase, Mohammed Muntaka Mubarak deserves credit for running after the Tema West legislator, Carlos Ahenkorah when he snatched ballot papers during the election of speaker two (2) days ago.

He said this at a party organized to celebrate the victory of Mr. Alban Sumana Bagbin’s election as speaker of parliament for 8th parliament in Ghana.

“So to our MPs, I can only say Kudos. So let today be dedicated to Hon. Muntaka not Haruna. He knows. I keep telling him that he can’t change me. I am still a quiet, pursuesive strategist. I can’t run as he did. He didn’t have my permission but he ran to protect the ballot”, the leader said.

The party was organized at the NDC 2020 flagbearer’s residence to thank the NDC MPs for their determination to win the speakership for the party, even though it seemed impossible looking the numbers.

This is first time in the history of Ghana an opposition member is occupying the speaker’s position in parliament with the governing party occupying the presidency, which is the third most important position after the president’s and vice president’s.

The Member of Parliament for Tema West, Carlos Ahenkorah did the unexpected on Thursday morning in Parliament when he snatched uncounted ballot papers in the Speaker of Parliament elections and attempted to bolt with it.

This was after the National Democratic Congress (NDC) Members of Parliament began celebrating what they expected to be a victory in their favour.

The former deputy Trade and Industry Minister who was not previously sighted, ran to the table during counting and snatched the ballots of Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye and attempted to bolt with it.

The Chief Whip on the NDC side and MP for Asawase, Alhaji Muntaka Mubarak also went after him and secured the ballots papers which were returned to the table.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *