Wed. Nov 30th, 2022

Former Parliamentary Candidate (PC) for Nanton Constituency on the ticket of New Patriotic Party (NPP), Kamal-Deen Abdulai has asked the NPP not blame the National Democratic Congress (NDC) Caucus on the appointments committee for the manner they are treating the nominees of the president Nana Addo Danquah Akufo-Addo for various portfolios in his government, but rather on certain individuals of the party who made themselves “king makers” during internal elections to influence delegates to choose wrong candidates.

His comments came barely 24 hours after the “rejection”, “pending” and “approval” of all the minister designates went through the constitutionally mandated vetting by the parliament’s appointments committee.

“Need we blame the NDC and their representatives on the appointments committee for their position on some of the vetted appointees of His Excellency the President, so far?”, Mr. Kamal-Deen asked.

According to him, the actions of the NDC MPs were “emboldened” by their number in parliament, which he described as “neck to neck” juxtaposing with the NPP number of MPs in parliament following the December 7 elections last year.

“I think they are emboldened by the neck to neck numbers in the house after the December 7, 2020 parliamentary elections and other factors”, he stated.

“‘Mafia’ at primaries, monetisation of intra party elections, ‘skirt and blouse’ canvassing and voting by so called true blue party people before and during the general elections etc, are some of the reasons why we should blame ourselves for some of these needless woes we are being faced with by them”, the former NPP youth organizer aspirant said.

He was not convinced by some of the reasons the NDC 13 members on the committee gave to support their decision to reject the information minister designate, Mr. Kojo Opong Nkrumah and his two (2) colleagues are not cogent enough.

“For instance, the reason adduced by them, on why the information minister designate, Hon. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah shouldn’t be given the nod by the house is that, he caused Hon. Dominic Ayine to be cited for contempt by the apex court of the land. Like seriously?”, he asked.

“The dexterity with which the information minister designate went through his vetting was seen by all, even to the admiration of the minority leader Hon. Haruna Iddrissu ( lawyer Aduna) who retorted at the tail end of the event that the young man was a fantastic communicator, except to add that, he had a difficult job at hand and wished him well. Need I state at this juncture, that, the competence of the nominee is not in question by the august committee?, so, why this needless red herrings just to frustrate the process?”, he wanted to know.

The not-too-happy Kamal-Deen however used to opportunity to remind the NPP supporters across the country to prepare themselves for what lies ahead of them in 2024, adding that any action that will not put the party in the good books of the grassroots will not be in the NPP’s favor in the next elections.

“This should be a wake up call to all NPP executives and members across board that 2024 is not going to be business as usual. Unfettered love for party is demanded, fairness in internal processes must be key and vehement efforts must be made to instil discipline in the party as well as try to put stringent measures in place to fight this cancer called monetisation of internal elections.Neglect of the grassroots will be at our own peril”, Kamal-Deen Abdulai concluded.

The Minority MPs on the Appointments Committee have so far rejected three of President Akufo-Addo’s 30 ministerial nominees while five others have been deferred to reappear for further questioning.Information Minister-designate Kojo Oppong Nkrumah; Minister-designate for Fisheries and Aquaculture, Mavis Hawa Koomson and Minister-designate for Food Agriculture, Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto have been rejected for various reasons.

Those deferred are Communication Minister nominee, Ursula Owusu-Ekuful; Railway Minister nominee, John Peter Amewu; Roads Minister nominee, Kwasi Amoako-Attah; Attorney General and Minister of Justice nominee, Godfred Dame and Health Minister nominee, Kwaku Agyeman-Manu.

Made up of a total of 26 members – 13 each from the NDC and the NPP Caucus – the Committee begun the constitutionally mandated vetting process on February 10 and are expected to finish on March 9.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *